Skip to content

Soundtrack 2011: The Daughter of Thaddeus

February 1, 2012

To help give the impression that I occasionally do something other than sing chant, think music, or make useful booklets:

My brother Josiah over at Random Interesting Stuff has begun posting our latest movie as a series of vimeo videos (link).

Here is the first, the overture which I wrote as an opening:

The Daughter of Thaddeus Overture from Cynecam on Vimeo.

When I was working on the soundtrack, I decided to write all the different sections of music for what were basically all chamber ensembles: a Brass quintet (as in the above), a Clarinet Quartet, a String Quartet (2 Violins, Cello, Bass), etc. This divided up the work among my musicians, and made scheduling easier.  (It was also easier to get my composing-head around.)  When it was time to record, I would thus be conducting 4-6 people, and we would take about an hour or an hour and a half to sight-read/rehearse/record, and people who had solos did them after everything else was done.  The exceptions were the percussion (mostly recorded separately and edited in) and the harp/dulcimer pieces (which were recorded at home and played by Josiah and Lydia).  When I had all my recordings done, I just used Josiah’s movie editing program to cut/edit/splice and line them up with the movie. In the end, I had about an hour’s worth of music, since I didn’t leave much silence in the film. Oh well – maybe next time!

End note: “an hour’s worth” – according to spellchecker this expression must be spelled with an h’apostrophe.  Thus we may see that it really means “the worth of an hour.”

 

One Comment
  1. Beautiful work! Your music is amazing.

Leave a Reply

