Skip to content

Antiphonale Romanum 1949, among other things

November 10, 2011

I had started another booklet for the Little Office, this time for Compline, and was doing well until I discovered that there were four different seasonal possibilities for the antiphon for the Nunc Dimittis.  Also, I could not find a version of the advent one, Spiritus Sanctus, which had the Solesmes markings.

Today at college, I had some spare time, so I went to the library and lo! they have both an Antiphonale Monasticum 1934 and an Antiphonale Romanum 1949.  The antiphon I was looking for, which is typically used for Lauds of the first Sunday of Advent had some minor variants between the two; the Romanum version was the one I wanted.  So I took the book to the computer, and typed out the Gregorio code, and e-mailed it to myself at home.  Jolly way to spend a half an hour.

Anyhow, doing booklets like I have been is quite interesting, because you have to find out and compile all the missing bits of information, and figure out the formatting questions, etc.  For example, I hadn’t seen the Antiphonales with rhythmic signs before, because I don’t think there are any on MusicaSacra.  Or, why do some two-syllable words get their accents marked, and others not? (I still don’t know; I mark all of mine.) Then there was the A vs. A* riddle in the comments of my last post.

By the way, it’s also time to start getting ready for Advent!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

